Love – part 2

Love is patient, love is kind.  It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.

1 Corinthians 13:4 (NIV)

Patient means to be able to tolerate or accept problems, delays or suffering without becoming anxious or annoyed.  It means to be uncomplaining, tolerant, and forbearing.  Love is patient.

Kind means to show consideration, courtesy, and decency.  It means to show gentleness, good intention, graciousness, sweetness, empathy, tenderness, thoughtfulness, and understanding.  It is not harsh, cruel, or mean.  Love is kind.

Envy means to be discontent or resentful because of someone else’s qualities, possessions, or luck.  Love does not envy.

Boast means to talk with excessive self-satisfaction and pride about one’s possessions, achievements, or abilities.  It is to brag or praise self.  Love does not boast.

Proud means to have an excessively high opinion of oneself or one’s importance.  Love is not proud.

Now…apply this to your marriage!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s